Adding 5lbs to TM or Sets

Im new to 531 and just have two newb questions so please bare with me!

1.After punching in my numbers into a calculator, I realized that adding 5lbs monthly to the TM is different than adding 5lbs to each top set/monthly. Should i do it the prescribed way (5lbs to TM/month) or the slightly quicker way (5lbs to each work set/month)?

I figured that either way, its going to take at least 6 months (mesocycles) before I approach a 5rep max, 3rep, and 1 rep ( im starting light as recommended) even if i was trigger happy and added 5 to each work set/month.

1. I just started 531 today, everything as rx’d, triumvirate assistance with no failure, 90% TMs etc. Today i ended with OHP, 115x11. With the rep ranges each week, what are the ideal reps i should be aiming for? (10 on 5s week??, 5 on 3s week etc)?? and when should i recalculate everything?

I tried 531 last year but didnt have the patience/maturity/knowledge for it. This time im seriously considering staying with this long term (at least a year)

Whatever you guys recommend, i fully respect and will seriously consider it, Thank you!

Should you do it the way the book tells you or the way you made up? LOL

1 Like

Do it exactly as Jim writes it. You’re definitely not going to come up with a better way than he’s already done.

1. I think the difference between the 2 calculations is .36 pounds, which will be rounded off anyway. Don’t sweat it.

2. There is no Real answer, everyone is different. But 11 reps on your first session sounds about right in the sweet spot to me.

11 reps isn’t really all that many either, unless perhaps you’re several cycles in. It gives you room to progress. It’s about long term progress, not trying to lift a few more pounds in any particular workout. You should always be able to hit AT LEAST 5 solid reps on your 1+ week during the last anchor cycle of your program.