T Nation

Adapting/Changing the Schemes of My Workout

I just have a few questions on adapting or changing the schemes of my workout if these following scenarios are happening.

Increase protein intake if your not getting stronger each week
Decrease carb intake if your waist is not getting smaller each week

assuming that one is working out 3-4 times a week and trying to get stronger and lose body fat

whats the question again? are u asking if u should implement those scenarios for the desired result?

You can probably make strength gains and lose body fat at the same time as a complete beginner, but after some point of training, it's probably better to pick one of the two goals and stick with that. It becomes increasingly harder to do both as your experience and time under the bar goes up, regardless of your protein/carb manipulation.

@vinnie Yea thats my question

@nate, ok how will you know when it happens? The problem with me cutting is that every time i do it, no matter how hard i try, my strength decreases alot and i dont know what to do, maybe its my nutrition, i dont know i just need help

Would it be more effective using my noob gains to bulk up properly or to try and get stronger/leaner at the same time? and how do i know if im still able to have noob gains

I'm still pretty new to the iron game, so I can't really speak from experience on this subject. I am about four weeks into my bulking diet, and I am gaining a lot of weight and only a little bit more body fat than before. Before I got semi-serious about the diet aspect, I felt like I would eat protein all day and still seem to lose weight. My strength gains were minimal as well.