T Nation

ACTrain: How Do You Train?

Another killer physique. Doesn't post much, but would be interested in hearing you share you training routine, history and nutrition.

I started lifting a week before my 18th birthday when a friend asked me to join the local YMCA. Started out with alot of machines, the YMCA had the nautlis universal gym. 6 months later I started college and had access to the internet where I learned aboout training. Moved on to free weights and Squats. Now this was way before youtube and lots of pictures so most of what I learned was from text descriptions.

Over the years I've tried all kinds of training programs. I've settled into, when mass building, alternating between periods of a 3 or 4 day a week bodypart split where each bodypart gets hit once a week and a 4 day a week upper/lower split where each bodypart gets hit twice a week.

For fat loss I've used CT's Destroying Fat program twice in the past with great results.

The last 6 months I've had to alter my training quite a bit due to injury, in terms of exercise selection and the amount of weight used. I had knee surgery last October to repair a torn meniscus and was diagnosed with distal clavicle osteolysis in my right shoulder. Both are feeling better. I recently started doing box squats and dumbell bench presses.

My surgery kept me out of the gym for 5 weeks and I dropped down to 168lbs. I did a mass gain program from Nov - Apr and got up to 194lbs. I used a targeted carbs approach taking in about 50g carbs a day, on my 4 workout days carbs increased to about 140g with the additional carbs coming peri-workout. Occasionally I'd do some cheating, like at a birthday party.

2 weeks ago I started an 8 week cut. I'm using CT's metabolic pairings routine he outlined in his forum and take in 50g or less carbs a day. I'll add some carbs peri-workout when I get a bit leaner.

I'll post the outline in a seperate message and today's workout in another.

Any questions, feel free to ask.