Active Recovery Workouts & Hip Flexor/Quad Stretching

First off, I was wondering if I could get some advice on static hip flexor/quad stretching, and static spinal erector stretches. I am trying to fix a bad posture, and in an article I’ve read here on the website, these are some of the things required, but I’m not real familiar with them. I have looked them up with the search bar but haven’t found much in the way of what stretches to exactly do.

Second off, I do Active Recovery/Neural Charge workouts. Would these be good days to add in the injury/posture/stretching type exercises. I have introduced a lot of exercises for elbow, shoulder, and hip health into my routine, but really it’s stretching my workouts way too long for me to do all that and plus all my main exercises.

I’m no expert on stretching by any means, but I wouldn’t think stretching AFTER a neural charge workout would be a bad thing at all. Just don’t do it during the workout…indirectly defeats part of the purpose of it.

Improving bad posture and flexibility requires time. You didn’t develop bad posture overnight, and it won’t go away overnight. The key is to be as aware of it as possible at all times (at work, home, sitting in the car, during workouts, etc) and actively striving to maintain good posture as often as possible.

BTW…what kind of posture issues are you having? This would help if people knew.

Also, hip flexors are one of the major areas of chronic tightness, which will also lead to “tightness” in your low back, hamstrings, and other areas.

I’ve also found that concentrated phases of flexibility focus are very effective. While you want to work at flexibility (general stretching after workouts), flexibility is just like any other physiological adaptation process of the human body…it will adapt to intense and frequent stretching exposures over time. The more concentrated the effort, the quicker your body will have to adapt and increase flexibility.