ACSM Test Wednesday

This Wednesday I’m sitting down to take the ACSM-CPT (American College of Sports Medicine-Certified Personal Trainer) test and I was wondering if anyone on here who has taken the test has any suggestions as far as what some good things to look over would be. I’ve looked at the KSA’s (basically the breakdown of what the test consists of and how heavily they’re weighted) and feel pretty good overall, especially after taking several practice tests and doing quite well on them. I’ve read the three books they suggest and done some independent research already and have reached the point where I feel like I already know everything I’m studying, which makes me want to stop. That being said, I would hate to fail the test and have to take it again.

So seriously, anything you can think of, just post it below. Frankly, if you guys could throw some stuff out there that I have no idea about and scare me back to my desk to study that’d be fantastic haha…

Thanks!

sorry i dont have any helpful info for you, but can you take that test whenever you feel ready? or is it only taken on certain dates throughout the year?

haha don’t sweat it. I think you can essentially take it on any date within reason. It’s given at a Pearson VUE location and each center seems to offer it at different times, but when I looked (a month in advance) it seemed to be offered almost any day of the week. I wasn’t able to really find too many open slots less than a month in advance though.

I don’t have any advice for you, but I’m glad to see you’re not getting some crappy ACE certification or anything.

I’ve seen the tests for nearly all of the PT certifications, and I gotta say, the ASCM and the NSCA are the only ones that actually require you to know your asshole from your elbow to pass. All the other ones are just a joke.