T Nation

Achilles Rupture Recovery

Hey everyone.

I have been a long time lurker here on T-Nation. I have been on this site for probably more then 10 years, although I never posted much. I started this log to share my journey of recovering from a complete achilles rupture that happened a week ago.

Quick background:

I started lifting when I was around 17 years old. Well if you can call doing pushups and crunches weightlifitng.
I was also a soccer player at a pretty high level here in the Netherlands. This was until I was around 18 years old.

A long story short I went to college, got my degree but also got fat. Started working, got even more fat (I weigh now around 190 at 1.73m/5"8 or something) but still thought I could run and gun like in the past.

Well I could not. After suffering 3 or 4 hamstring injuries, a pulled calve, numerous ankle sprains,
my body decided it would put me on the side for real: a complete achilles rupture.

It is now one week ago that I had surgery.

I made this log because somewhere in the back of my mind I have this voice that is saying "this is not how it should end, you can come back and be better than ever"

This log is made to fuel that voice.

I will be posting my progress here. There will be no weights any time soon as
I can not walk at the moment, but some upper body exercises are possible and
I am very focused on nutrition and have some interesting things to share about that.

My ultimate goal is to redefine myself. Heal the tendon, lose the fat, gain strenght
and make a complete comeback. I am 28 so I think I have one last shot to either
do it right and come back fit, healthy and strong instead of retiring from sports prematurely
in pain and shame.

Thanks for Reading