T Nation

ACE Certification

Ok, so I’m looking to get a piece of paper saying I actually do know what I’m talking about when it comes to fitness, and I was told this is the easiest and widely recognized certification to get. I dont have any college related credits towards physical fitness but I do know quite a bit. I guess what I’m getting at is, “Is this the best starting certification I should strive for?”

I’m reading over the website and its 300$ just for the study materials (If anyone has this stuff and wants to sell it cheaper, gimme a PM) and 200$ to take the test.

I’m open to any suggestions or opinions, I’m still a newbie to the employable certification world. Thanks

I’ve never taken any courses of the ACE variety, but I think no one has answered your questions about ACE or certification for a reason. I’ve widely known ACE certs to be full of it. That’s from personal interaction with ACE cert trainers at my job and at a popular chain fitness center. I believe if you check out interviews and info of the gracious coaches that write for the T-Nation, and help us out here for free, you’ll find out what certifications actually may hold more weight than ACE. Also just from asking questions and reading here just might make more educated than a basic ACE cert person. BUT humility is a good trait to have when you have no certification, but lots of knowledge. IMHO.

T-Nation might think differently and ACE, to them, might be the best certification around.

[quote]chubs108 wrote: