T Nation

ACE cert

I can?t believe I am asking this question seeing as I have made fun of the ACE cert so much but here goes. I am a telecom tech and my company is going through some changes there will be some layoffs for sure. I am hoping that I will not get axed but you never know. What I am thinking is I should pick up the ACE cert to have something to fall back on if I do get laid off. Just til I can find another tech job but who knows I may like it so much I will want to stay. Anyway long story short?what type of money could I expect to make with this cert by working at a ?chain? gym I am not talking about building a client base and all that I just need something incase and I think this sounds interesting. In case anyone would want to know I am 32 and I have been weight training since I was about 16 not an expert but I am not a dumb ass either.

1. I don’t believe there are bad certs only bad trainers. I know an NSCA cert trainer that I wouldn’t let near my worst enemy and a few ACE trainers that are on the ball with their knowledge and skill.

2. At the Country Club I work at they make about $30/hour. At public chains I have heard more. If you are able to run independent and have the client base you can technically charge what you want. I had close friends pay me $20-30 a session and others a lot more, depending on the person and the extent of hands on needed.

3. In my opinion, ACE is a decent place to start but you want to look into also getting your ACSM and NASC as they will get you in more doors down the road.

JMHO~

S

ACE sucks. And although most gyms will take it, from a couple months ago, Gold’s will not. They are making all of us current employees go through NASM and won’t hire anybody new without it. So ask the gym you want to work at what they require. I had my first with ISSA, so I’m biased that direction. Hell our president was the first person to squat 1000.

Nathan