T Nation

Accidents with Weights that are Too Heavy?

Well today I decided to face my fears and squat about 45lb heavier than usual, with a belt. I did 6 reps of about 300lb and had a good sensation. I had a little break but obviously it wasn’t long enough.

My plan was to do one deep squat with the same weight, so I squatted down, but must have gone too far because the bar kept falling and my mate who is new to bodybuilding wasn’t even watching so it crashed down on the catchers, quite embarrassing, I looked like a total noob trying to “show off” but I was actually trying to take it up a step. Has anybody else ever done this?

You’ve never failed to lift a weight? Thats the whole purpose of the squat rack.

I’ve gotten 2 buddies into lifting, and the first time either of them failed a squat, and I tried to spot them, they dumped the bar back into my hands and made me curl it. Good thing it was only 115.

i dropped a 90lb DB on my thigh today failing at a seated shoulder press. shit aches.

and i partially dislocated my right shoulder 3 times in 10 weeks last year from failing at incline pressing.

No.

I never fail.

Ever.

Once while squatting, I thought I had racked the weight on the hooks – but one side was off. The bar fell and hit the back of my head. My knees buckled but I caught myself. The bar landed on the support hooks with a bang and everybody looked.