T Nation

Accentuated eccentrics (CT's super beast program)

ok, so tonight i did the second bench workout from Coach Thib’s super beast program from about a year ago. the first move was AREG bench at 90% for 5 sets. the next was Isomiometric bench at 65% for 3 sets of 3. then the kicker!!! the next was negative singles @ 120% for a 6 second yield. i helf it for about five seconds, got half way down and freaking failed…thank God i had a strong spotter.

my question…is this normal!!! his plan calls for 5 singles…i had to stop with one. could this just be a volume issue since i’ve been training westside for over 2 years?

It could be a number a of variables; it could be that the weight your using is not the most advantages weight and/or your work capacity is minimal. CT?s super beast program is very effective In fact it is very similar to how I structure some of my athletes training programs. Although I utilize more isometrics and powermetrics in my athletes programs. It also could be your diet, maybe your eating to few carbs or not a sufficient amount of rest. Your should optimize your recover ability. I might write an article on enhancing your recover ability (it is often overlooked by most trainees and trainers) for T-mag if people are interested.
So are you interested T-people?

thanks for the quick reply boss…my work capacity is fair to par, i guess it could be better…do boxing SPP and sledge GPP once a week. diet is solid, per JB’s massive eating with about 3000-3400 cals a day. i’m really not used to heavy negatives though, so that might be the key.

Boss, when i finish the three weeks on super beast…how should i restructure?

any other ideas/suggestions?