Abscess Chances

So since Dave_ had his run in with an abscess. What are the chances of this happening? If someone does all the right things for injections. I would hate to deal with this as a kind of regular thing. I know its a risk but, what is the chance this would happen? Or is it a fluke that it happens. You deal with it and move on? Are certain body types more prone to this type of infection? Just curious.

[quote]bushidobadboy wrote:
I have never had one. I’ve been injecting for over 5 years.

I don’t swab the area prior to injection.

Bushy[/quote]

Any reason as to why you don’t swab?
Every injection I ever had they soaked me with alcohol.

Ive also never had one.

Ive also read an article or two in the past stating that there is no more risk of infection with or without swabbing prior to injection.

There are plenty of diabetics that I know for a fact dont swab prior to injecting their insulin.

However I must admit that at this point I do swab pre and post of every injection.

Never had one either.

Simply taking basic sterility precautions when administering gear will rule out most causes, and will give you peace of mind.

The only bad stories I’ve heard are from using bad or poorly made gear. It doesn’t matter if you swab prior to injection if your product wasn’t produced correctly in a sterile environment. First know what you are putting in your body…

I too have never had one. And I also never swabbed for the first three years of injecting. I’m not sure, but it seems some people are just less prone to get abcesses. It seems even when using the same injection procedures, some people will get them while others will not. Thoughts anybody?

-M

[quote]mbaina wrote:
I too have never had one. And I also never swabbed for the first three years of injecting. I’m not sure, but it seems some people are just less prone to get abcesses. It seems even when using the same injection procedures, some people will get them while others will not. Thoughts anybody?