T Nation

Ab's Tip of The Day

I was just reading Waterbury’s tip of the day:

Top Ab Exercises

The best ab exercises are: deadlifts, overhead presses, cleans, rope pulls, overhead figure 8’s, and pull-ups with a dumbbell between your feet. Not the exercises you were expecting? Isolation abdominal exercises don’t induce enough stress compared to high-load compound exercises. It all goes back to load. Focus 75% of your time on performing the aforementioned exercises. The other 25% of the time should be spent performing hanging pikes, decline sit-ups, inch worms, side bends, and cable crunches.

This is all news to me (which as a beginner i find most things fall under that category). I was under the impression that cable crunches are high load exercises.
What are people’s opinion on this tip?

Also, what are ‘overhead figure 8’s’ and ‘rope pulls.’

-(big)dude

I have done crunches, sit ups, and even tried the crazy, lame-ass ab machines, but nothing has affected my stomach like the basics. My favorite is push-ups with a combined dumbell row. It kills me! Dead lifts, squats, cleans, and standing overhead presses… that’s what’s done it for me.

tried the pullups with the dumbell between my ankles. Abs were sore the next day…

[quote]That One Guy wrote:
tried the pullups with the dumbell between my ankles. Abs were sore the next day…[/quote]

more so than with a weighted dip belt?

[quote]bigdude wrote:
That One Guy wrote:
tried the pullups with the dumbell between my ankles. Abs were sore the next day…

more so than with a weighted dip belt?[/quote]

Yes, it would be like holding a leg raise while doing pull-ups. Taxing on the abdominals, and a great thing to do if you ever do back and abdominals on the same day.