About Your Stones

Do folks here have access to stones? If not, how do you train for them?

This is my situation ATM and having never competed (and eyeing off an October competition), I’ve never lifted one. It seems like something you dont want to go into as a total newb…

I have a wide variety of stones. The closest carry over is the sandbag lift, which can be made with a military surplus canvis bag and bags of gravel.

Will look into sandbags, thanks. BTW, where do you store the things? I am happy to make them but storing…

I only have 1 sandbag that I use for cardio purposes so I might not be the best source of advice. The sandbag is composed to two smaller 52lb gravel bags, duct taped. I keep them in my car. Really, depending on how strong you are you just need 3-5 50lb bags, and a few smaller 10lb to 20lb bags. Id just put them in your garage until you think you need them.

I meant where do you store the stones :slight_smile:

I use to keep them inside my gym but for the past 3 years I’ve left them outside

The only time I ever get to handle stones is in a contest. I have done fair to great depending on the show. Smaller diameter stones are much easier than larger ones if you just try to hulk it up without any technique.

As was mentioned, the sandbag is a great way to train the mechanics of the lift. Kegs are a little similar too. Additionally, though I cannot verify it yet, my inclination is that seated zercher axle good mornings off pins are going to carry over very well to stones

Other gym lifts I think have great carryover are safety squat bar squats with a rounded upperback and all manner of rows.

Also, tacky changes things IMMENSELY, so don’t sweat if you ever get to a stone and try it without tacky.

You have to get your hips under the stone to pop it up, so I felt it was kind of similar to a power clean, with some front squat action.

Like these guys say, anything you hunker over and hug to your chest will work for practice.