T Nation

About to Begin 5/3/1 for First Time

Hi guys,
As stated in the title I’m about to start 531 and would just like to ask a couple of questions

1. Would you advise a guy like me (relatively a beginner to this style of training) to do anything more than BBB for assistance?

2. Thinking of doing supersetting my BBB with some pulling on the upper body days, but not sure if supersetting would be a good idea on the lower body days? Would it be too taxing?

3. Are front squats (squat day) and RDL (deadlift day) ok for BBB or should I just stick to the main exercises for BBB?

Thanks.

BBB isn’t a beginner template. Try the triumvirate or bodyweight templates for a few cycles until you can find an accurate training max and understand the program better. Once assimilated, BBB is a good one to run for 3-4 cycles.

I’m not a beginner to lifting, just new to wendler 5/3/1. Would your answer still be the same knowing this?

Thanks.

What did you understand the book to say on the topic?

Haven’t read Jim’s book yet, just done a lot of Internet research. I haven’t been able to find the book in any stores here in the UK but have ordered a copy from Amazon. Would it be best to read Jim’s book before starting the program?

Thanks.

yep - get acquainted with the program and finding the right training max, then do BBB. Another option would be to do 5/3/1 for beginners. Don’t let the title of the article confuse you - do that program as written and you will certainly not be disappointed. If you don’t like the title, just tell yourself you’re doing 5/3/1 for intermediates lol… Just google 5/3/1 for a beginner and you’ll find Jim’s blog. That template kicks ass for someone starting the program. What’s your training age btw? How are you defining yourself as “not a beginner”?

It will help. Remember that the programs are designed that way for a reason. I tend to err on the side of not making changes.