T Nation

Ab Work and Fat Loss. Opinions?

So basically, ever since I graduated college this May, I’ve been hitting the gym hard. I played baseball and basketball at school, which served me very well as far as keeping in shape.

As a pitcher, I was always discouraged from hitting the weight room too hard, because of the increased risk for connective tissue problems associated with heavy lifting. I was basically all about cardiovascular fitness, light weight workouts, and flexibility.

Since then, I’ve really been going all out in the gym, as I basically see that as my athletic activity instead of the sports I’d been playing for so long. But I digress.

My question is this:

Admittedly, I’ve put on a bit of weight since school ended, mostly in the midsection. I’m currently 6’5, 235, and while I still maintain what I would call an athletic build, I’ve always had a bit of a “love handle problem”, you could say.

Basically, I’m not quite as slim as I’d like to be. Any excess fat that I have, I swear goes right to my sides, haha. I’ve been doing consistent abdominal work, and I was wondering, if I’m looking to slim down a bit, should I lay off the ab work that targets my sides, and focus only on ab work that targets the center?

I was thinking that with a proper running program, I could drop the 10 lbs or so I’m looking to lose from the love handle area. By the same token, I feel like maybe I should just continue doing excercises that work the sides, because it might help burn some of the fat in that area.

So basically, if I’m looking to lose some fat from that love handle area, do I lay off exercises that work that specific area, and do only those that focus on the center? Or will continuing to do exercises that target the sides really help out in burning fat in that area? My profile view is perfect, it’s just my front view width that I’m looking to tighten up.

Any advice would be great.

For reference:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v504/PGame20/chillaxin.jpg