Ab Troubles

I have noticed something odd about my abdominal development and was hoping I could get some tips and ideas about this:
I have been working my abs well for the last 3 or 4 months (didn’t bother much with them before that) and have gotten a some development, but it seems a bit irregular. Only my top set of abs have grown, the middle and lower sets are firm, but there is no noticable definition or growth! I have been doing pretty good ab workouts too, using mostly CTs articles as a guide. If anyone has any insight on this or any tips to concentrate on only the lower abs they would be appreciated. Oh and if recommending exercises try to pick ones that I can do with free weights at home, I don’t have access to any gym equipment until September.
Thanks

Try this exercise. Go to the mirror with your shirt off. Now find the fatty looking back at you…did you find him yet? I’m only joking, making light of the situation dawg. Most likely you are seeing ab development in the upper portion of your abs because you lose the fat there first. Continue cutting and the lower portion will come into view.

heh thanks for info. i should have mentioned, i am 5’8" 160, so i’m not heavy. i put up some pictures 3 or 4 weeks ago, check them out for reference: http://www.t-nation.com/readTopic.do?id=475418

slimjim has a good point nonetheless, you need to get even leaner still to really see a well-defined six pack…

fair enough, and to be honest, i haven’t done a cutting cycle in … well ever. i have always been trying to gain, but i am going to start my first ever cutting cycle in another 3 weeks or so. maybe things will change after cutting a bit, but the way they look i was thinking it was more of a lack of building them properly as opposed to having to cut down on fat. thanks for the replies, keep 'em comin!