T Nation

A Surgical Consult

Hey guys, i’m a junior undergraduate right now, and am getting ready for applying to medical school and the whole bit. My main interest as of the moment is something in surgery, probably orthopaedic.

I’ve been building things, be it models, doghouses, remodeling kitchens, and the whole bit since I was about 14 (i’m 20 now).

Since its about the time I start getting mroe serious, I was wondering if any current surgeons or enthusiasts have any reccomendation for additional advanced dexterity-building activities. thanks in advance

Absolutely!

Practice, practice, practice!

1. Suturing

2. Tying Surgical Knots

3. Suturing some more!

I would also consider getting a Surgical Tech certification, (if you have time) to get used to handling the instruments. In many local hospitals, you can actually become First Assist.

There are THOUSANDS of CD’s and instructional models out there. (You can do a search).

Here is one:

http://www.brooksidepress.org/Products/Suturing_entrance.htm

Good luck!

Mufasa

I would say not to worry about it at this point so much. The residency training for ortho is fairly long, so you’ll get lots of practice. Worry more about getting into medical school and then into an ortho residency. Good luck.

Play some video games.

BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE: Performance of laparoscopic surgery requires adequate hand-eye coordination. Video games are an effective way to judge one’s hand-eye coordination, and practicing these games may improve one’s skills. Our goal was to see if there is a correlation between skill in video games and skill in laparoscopy.

Also, we hoped to demonstrate that practicing video games can improve one’s laparoscopic skills.