T Nation

A Ruggers Training

In order to reach a goal, one must lay out the framework for that goal. Well, obviously, that is the purpose of this journal. I have been keeping a training journal for the past 23 days in hopes of recording progress on my lifts. The training I was doing was based upon many compound movements, such as squats, rows and dips (5x5 one day, 4x10 the next), however I neglected to do much work on my fitness. So, looking to become a better rugby player, I need to drastically improve that. “Widow Maker” training, as it had often been called, is a series of compound lifts performed consecutively with a light weight. I plan to do this exercise on Mondays, Wednesday and Fridays, and have my rugby specific training on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

Here’s a bit of info you may want to know�?�

I’m 21 yrs old and I’ve been playing rugby for 4 years and my highest level was playing college select side and in the Colorado Mountain League (with the foreigners, who just happen to be some of the best ruggers I’ve ever played with). Currently, I’m a member of the Glenwood Springs Defiance RFC so I have to travel an hour every Thursday to attend their practices. In the event I can’t make it, two other team mates and my self will perform some sort of rugby specific training that day.

I’m 6’2’’ and currently weigh 216 lbs (16.7% body fat). My body fat was calculated using a three point caliper technique on June 18th. My next test is around July 18th.