A Question Of Overcoming Mental Barriers

Hi All!

I am a long-time lurker…first time poster. I have been reading t-nation (t-mag) for about 2 years, and absolutely LOVE the information I’ve gotten from it’s pages. (and it’s members)

Anyways, my question is one of “over-coming” those mental barriers that we place on ourselves. I’ve been working out for a couple of years, and although I’ve increased my strength in my legs, and back, etc. I can’t seem to increase the bench press weight. I know that it’s a mental thing that started when I first began working out. I began my working out with friends, and they were more experienced then me (and thus much stronger), and I was always behind, and always felt “lacking” in the bench area. Now, even though none of them workout anymore (and I workout on my own) I still feel “weak” on the bench…)

So, are there any techniques that you guys can recommend for just “doing it” when it comes to the bench press?

Thanks in advance for any responses!!

try pushups, ballistic pushups, suspended pushups, band pushups, etc…this will work the same movement/muscles as the bench press but create an entirely different mental perspective.

also interested in the replies for this one. my bench is the slowest to increase… it’s always good if you have a spotter for your bench. provided that you do, you can always go heavier than you when you’re alone.

for me increases in bp, just take time… a long time. perhaps i’m doing it wrong, so … bring on the replies.

First off what are your stats: age/weight/max lifts

no need for all of us giving you ideas for a big bench if you don’t need it.

Some practical advice read all the articles involving west side and dave tate, they are great motivators expecially the education of a powerlifter series.