A Little Help Here?

Hi, my name is Rick. I’m 36 years old, and when my wife was pregnant with our second child, I noticed that I once again was gaining weight with her. So, I decided to start working out and eating right. I can’t afford a personal trainer and a nutritionist to help me in this regard, so I have been flying blind for about six months now. This is my goal:

Obviously, GSP is a genetic freak, so I have no delusions of actually looking like that. But that is the direction and the general body-type I would like. I want to be lean and muscular, with good definition - not massive. Of particular interest to me (and I guess everyone else) is having the elusive six-pack, and I guess I need to get down to about 10% body fat to see that.

I started out at about 170lbs and about 20 - 25% bodyfat. I had a 34 inch waist. I am now down to a 29 inch waist, 147lbs, and about 13% bodyfat. This in six months. I should be ecstatic. But it seems like the more progress I make, the more impatient I get. Go figure.

Here’s what I did for most of the six months so far:

I did HIIT on an elliptical machine on Tuesdays and Thursdays for 30 minutes. In the last month or two, I also incorporated an ab routine on those days before the cardio. I’d do two giant sets:

1. On a decline board, raise slightly and twist with dumbell in hand, punching upward. Twelve reps each side
  2. Press sit up X12
  3. Leg lifts X 20
  4. Swiss ball plank 1 minute
  5. Side plank X 20 each side
  6. Vacuum stomach 5 times