T Nation

A Little Fatty; Working Towards Shredded

Hey to everyone on here, ive only known about this website for around a week and it has kept me absolutely busy with loads of articles and posts reading non-stop over that time..

well.. i didnt know where else to post this besides in here as i am a beginner..

Little bit about my current flabby crap body.. im 18, rocking a pretty heavy weight of 110kg.. which translates into apparently 242 lb... (2.2lb = 1kg... 110kg x 2.2.. am i right?..) also about 5'11.

ive had a fair amount of history with the gym, i know the basics, ive started working out this year already, seen a bit of progress.. but there is still one main question i NEED ANSWERED.

and that is... "eat, eat, eat, eat" ... SO.. the real question.. Does this eat method still apply to someone as large as me? as in ive practically already got the fat sitting there do i really need to keep eating to bulk up? wont this just make me 'fatter' in the long run?

.. quite a long post for that simple question..

thought i would just introduce myself and say thanks to everyone who has contributed awesome information.. and thanks in advance to any replies.

Ace.

Do you know your body fat percentage? I think most would not recommend starting an all-out bulk if your BF is above about 15% or so. If you cannot get measured, look for websites that have pictures - if you look more like the guy at 25% than the guy at 15%, you should probably cut the fat before you bulk.

Get with a good program and continue to lift heavy to preserve muscle while you gradually reduce calories while keeping protein levels high until you see the fat coming off. Keep searching this site for more info.

I'd lose the bf first, you should be able to gain muscle and strength along the way and your body will thank you for it.