A Lanky Kid's Program

Hey everybody. I’m new to these forums and to weightlifting, and I’ve done a lot of reading over the past week or so on programs, supps, nutrition, etc. but I’m still feeling a little bit lost and I was hoping you guys could give me a better idea of whether what I’m doing is good based more on my own personal goals, starting point, budget and amount of free time, etc.

So, I’m 18 years old, about 6’4" and 160 lbs. Hence, why I want to start lifting. Tired of being scrawny, so I’d like to build a solid base of strength in all the muscle groups and just look more muscular and more defined in general. I’m a college student, so I don’t have very much free time for cooking or training more than 3X a week, and I definitely don’t have much money to throw around on supps or groceries. Mostly, I’m limited to what I can get in the dining halls.

I made a program basically straight out of Tony Gentilcore’s article here Program Design for Dummies. Specifically, here’s what I do:

Tuesday: Squat, 5X6; Dumbbell Incline Press, 5X6; Suitcase Deadlift, 5X6 each side; Bent over barbell row, 5X6; Skullcrushers, 5X6; Barbell side bends, 5X6; Side Lying external rotation, 5X6 each arm.

Thursday: Bench, 5X6; Pull-ups, 3X4 (that’s the goal, but I’d be lucky to do 2 reps right now…); Bulgarian Split Squats, 3X6 each leg; Standing Military Press, 5X6; Chest supported row, 5X6; Standard planks, 5 sets of 45-75 secs.; Face pulls, 5X6

Saturday: Deadlift, 5X6; Decline barbell press, 5X6; One arm dumbbell row, 5X6 each arm; Upright barbell row, 5X6; Standing barbell bicep curls, 5X6; V-ups, 3 X however many I can; Side lying internal rotation, 5X6 each side.

I warm up before each session with 4-5 minutes on the exercise bike, and I do all of these lifts at the most weight I feel I can for the number of reps. I try to rest about 60-90 seconds between sets.

Any comments on the program? Number of sets and reps, rest times, etc.?