A IT Guy

I have been managing a help desk for the last 5 years and I am getting bored with it. I feel my tech skills have been declining with all the managing I have to do. I am thinking of taking 6 months and certifying in another direction but I am not sure what would be the most fun.

I have done the Desktops, Server, and routing and switching thing. I was thinking about going toward ethical hacking and a security cert but I am afraid it would be just more deep packet inspection Layer 3 thing with lots of paper work.

So I guess my question is, for a guy with 20 years in, what would be the new hot technology to get back into the tech side of it that would be fun and profitable?

Any suggestions?

I think security has a lot of growth potential, and seems interesting to me. Trying to figure my way into that route as a telcom guy.

The only way to get into a “hot, new technology” is either hope your current company will train you on it or else go to school and rack up mountains of debt taking courses. (For some odd reason, the instructors teaching all that can’t get a job, as I’ve discovered). The only hot, new technology which helps me is that I can file for unemployment benefits on the web, saves trips to the office.

Oh, and the minute they find out your age, Colin, you won’t have a snowball’s chance of getting any position that doesn’t require “Do you want fries with that?”

Speaking from personal experience, months of crushing unemployment takes all the boredom out of a steady paycheck.

Security is where it’s at right now. Core routing is pretty high stakes too but you need a good amount of training to really go far. Companies like Google and Facebook are hiring some pretty nice positions but you’ve gotta be pretty darn good to get one. Our two best engineers applied at Google, one got thanks but no thanks the other got a job as a field engineer (rack and stack guy).

I know in “generic IT”, security is hot.