A 'How to Train' Question :(

Hey there. I did some searching, but didn’t really find anything - so I am just making a short post here.

I am a relative beginner, and I have been stuck in the ‘short attention span’ part of training, and went from skinny-fat to skinny-normal in 4-5 months (165 lbs 5’10"), and stagnating there for a good year.

Now I have discovered BJJ, and I find it really fun and interesting. I have been training for a month. My gym does both BJJ and no-gi BJJ, and by training both I can train 5-6 days a week.

However - I am tired of being weak and puny, so I want to add at least 20 lbs of muscle. This is basically vanity and self-image, not for being a better BJJist. I am a beginner, and my 5-rep lifts are 200 lbs squat, 230lbs deadlift, 135 lbs bench (and 3 reps on chin-ups, yay!), so progress should not be that hard to acheive. I have been following the starting strength Wichita Falls Novice program for a week (full body, 3 major movements, 3 days a week) and Iam planning on following it for a long while.

Now, for the question - how plausible is it to add quality mass while training beginner-BJJ 5 times a week?

It’s possible, but you’re going to have to up your food intake to make it work. I’m 5’11" - 165 and at a little over 3 years of training have no trouble with big guys (250 plus). The more mat time you get, the more you’ll learn how to handle stronger guys, using technique, speed, and flexibility.

Not to mention, you’ll learn how to make yourself feel much heavier from the top. My entire game is focused on gaining top position early and grinding them out, floating from one top position to the next until a sub opens up. If you’ve got a strong, deep grapevine and a stiff cross face, holding down even the biggest guy is not too difficult.