T Nation

A Good Routine to Build More Muscle?

Im a noob, I'm 21, 6'1 and weigh 170, I need to get up to atleast 190 so I don't look so skinny, but even though I'm very skinny my BF is very high, I didn't measure, but I look terrible with my shirt off, belly with man boobs.

If I eat a lot of clean calories and workout 5-6 days a week, will it turn into mostly muscle, or what should I do to cut the body fat?

guys, I know Im skinny, im not freaking out about gaining weight, it's just that its summer time not sure if i should also incorporate running into my workout because right now I do not look good, or just hard heavy lifts would benefit me and eating alot? I want to see some nice improvements in the next 1-2 months, then after that I dont mind doing a nice bulk once summer is over, but like I said im new to this, so asking you guys.

Thanks

Chances are to lose the fat, you’ll also lose weight. How is that going to help you get to your goal of 190? The problem may lie with your diet/macros. If you’re not already, try keeping your carbs to morning time and around your workouts (pre, peri or post), that should help. Eat PF meals the rest of the day and before bed (1-2hrs) Make sure intensity is balls to the wall in the gym. I was 6’ 1" and 170lb when I started and made many mistakes. Best advice I can give you, is to forget about your Abs for awhile. Concentrate on getting stronger! I sure hope your squating and deadlifting?

~Ecto

I’m going to lay out a few things that will point you in the right direction I hope: