A Few Questions About Lat Raises

I have a few questions concerning the execution of DB lat raises. I’m not hoping so much for a mechanical description, but rather people’s successes and failures with growth and/or injury prevention from the different ways of tweaking them. I’m looking for the optimal way to utilize them for me. I have very little experience with them and appreciate your feedback.

1. Angle of ascent. Obviously the weight is being lifted in a vertical plane. You can move directly in the same plane as your shoulder, slightly in front (cheating towards a front raise), or slightly behind. From my limited experience, I find slightly behind the most difficult, but I’m not 100% sure as to why, or if it’s even a good thing. I’ve also read a few of you recommend doing them this way (behind the back) with a cable.

2. Angle of wrists. What are the advantages of leading the raise slightly with your pinky v. your index finger? Or just completely level? Is it a matter of emphasis?

Perhaps I’m overthinking things, but my thoughts are that now is a good time in my training career to start asking these kind of questions. I apologize in advance if this is an overly basic question. I was brought into the world of iron via anti-isolation trainers and have only recently been shown the light regarding their advantages–both in growth and prevention–thanks to my well-informed T-brothers.

Thanks in advance!

spoken like a true physicist

Lateral raises create torque on your shoulder muscles, and you just “flex” the DB or cable up. So when you use pinkys out that’s adding more torque onto your front delts.

My favorite way to do them is on the cable machine. I keep my wrist semi limp and have my forearm bent forward(so i really get really good isolation on my delt), when i reach the top of the movement i flick my wrist up and rotate towards my back almost like a reverse flye (Keep your shoulder blades firm though, no contracting back).

Just my 2 cents.