T Nation

A Degree!

I am currently a freshman in college.
I highly enjoy training, as you may have guessed.
I enjoy staying healthy and nutritional.
I like to let people know how to be healthy by spreading my wealth of knowledge.

The problem is that I don't know what to do with my life.

I've always been told that I'll be an engineer when I grow up since math was always easy for me. I decided on going into Computer Engineering because I have a slightly extensive background with computers.

Now the more engineering classes I go to, the more that I want to be a physical trainer, strength coach, health guru, etc...

I've thought about opening a gym with a couple buddies, so should I be taking business classes? Or even getting a business degree?

The reason for this post is to educate the young, impressionable students about the different types of degrees or jobs you can have in the field of training.

Bonus points if you can also state some higher learning facilities that have notably good academic programs (I've heard that Eastern Michigan University has a good Exercise Science program, and I'm thinking about attending there next year).

Univ. of Michigan
Univ. of Connecticut
Florida State University
Univ. of Florida
Univ. of Texas

Those are good schools to check out.

As for degrees, if your goal is to open a gym, and the gym is your business, and your goal is to make money, then get a business degree. But definitely take some Exercise Physiology/Kinesology classes to gain information, or even possibly double major or minor in it.

You can PM me my bonus points later on today.

College education = making good money running a gym

about as much as

running on a treadmill = makes you big and strong

My advice in terms of education and career is not to make decisions that close the doors that are currently open to you.