A Decade In, Let's Compare Notes

Hey Tnation,

I started training & lurking in this forum back when I was 14 (a decade ago), and joined shortly afterwards (age 15, 9 years back). Having recently celebrated my 24th, I’ve officially been in the game for a decade… Hard to believe, but time marches onwards. It’s been quite a journey – here’s some of the stuff I’ve done:

• Ate like a moron for a year (carbophobia)
  • Ate pretty damn well for 5+ years
  • Dieted down for photoshoots twice, reached ‘photoshoot leanness’ many many times
  • Became a power-to-weight ninja (national powerlifting coach wanted me to compete at nationals)
  • Tore my quadratus lumborum on an ego lift and relinquished my power-to-weight ninja title (tingles/numbness in lower back and right leg for months)
  • Trained high volume, low volume/high intensity, high frequency, low frequency etc.
  • Got really fit (cardiovascular, V02 max, etc)
  • Got really unfit
  • Been obssessed
  • Been rather laissez-faire
  • Built a decent physique (by my standards/aesthetic sensibilities)
  • Read way way way too much about this stuff (but I love it)

Currently? I’m ‘refining’ my physique (chasing my own sense of aesthetics): more shoulders and arms, slightly smaller quads (this is a whole adventure), and rebuilding my chest (the one body part that lost meaningful size/strength during the coronavirus lockdown).

I wanted to share some of my ‘learnings’ from the journey thus far-- feel free to agree, disagree, tell me I’m an idiot, etc – looking for thoughts from the community! In no particular order:

• I can look good (very lean) or I can be strong. Can’t do both.

• Feels incredible to be strong and a little fluffy (I mean ‘less defined abs’, not ‘fat’)