A Confused Beginner's Journal

I have been lifting on and off for a couple of years and have managed to increase my strength as well as gain a bit of mass. Recently I had made a couple of threads but really haven’t resolved my issue. So I guess here is where I’m going to start now and I will also start a journal too.

I currently stand at 6 ft 2, 180 lbs and have 15-18% Bodyfat. This bodyfat seems too high and it’s a stumbling block for me. I want to lose the fat around my waist and love handles primarily and increase my upper body mass to have a more asthetic shape.These as I have read are conflicting goals. I currently do a 3 day a week split, based on heavy compound lifts. I think the thing that bothers me is that due to the high bodyfat I don’t look like I lift at all.

My strength is what I consider poor.

1 rep maxes from a couple of months ago, I’m working back upto these now.

*Bench - 80 kg
*Squat - 100 kg
*Deadlift - 120 kg

My ultimate goal for a year is to be 190 lbs and have approximately 10% bodyfat, which seems like a sensible goal to aim for.

I am in two minds, whether to go on a mini cut to get rid of some of the softness, or to just carefully keep bulking.

I have 4 months of summer where I can make sure all my meals are up to scratch and that I get them in all on time. I’m currently reading around a lot and will continue to do so. I would like to hear from people who have been in the same “skinnyfat” situation,or from the older trainers.

I’ve never really followed a strict diet, although I do eat fairly clean.I think nutrition is my main downfall and the aspect that needs most work.

I will post up a picture very soon, and hope to end this confusion and get on with busting my ass in the gym.