A Clinical Study of One

Hey all.

I’ve decided to start blogging again, because I’m training for a competition in March. I intend to set the bench record for my weight and age in Colorado, and Kpsnap has graciously allowed me to take it. :slight_smile:

Here’s my old log:

I’m going to try to be utterly candid in this log. I haven’t been around for a while because, to be honest, I’ve been depressed. I discovered I need a minimum amount of cardio to keep wanting to stay alive, and I’ve been struggling with my feelings about aging.

The title refers to this: as a scientist, I used to be snotty about needing double blind clinical trials for establishing effects. Then, in discussion with a friend I said: I KNOW that fish oil affects my mood, but the evidence is mixed. She said: You are your own clinical study of one and you have the luxury of running as many trials as you want. Aha.

Today I am 5’4" and 47 years old. I weigh 109.5 lbs and bench 92.5 with a 3 second pause at the chest. I deadlifted (sumo) 203.5 in competition this fall and I squatted 132 in competition last summer.

I have a very funny story to tell you all in my next post about a guy doing partial reps in the smith machine.

I adore and admire every one of you powerful women.

Happy lifting!

yay!!!

As a scientist delving into the realm of qualitative research. I can tell you there is a lot to be learned from a study of one! I can cite some literature if it’ll appease the positivist in you :slight_smile:

I’m looking forward to discovering your themes.

Story: I work out in a dumpy little hovel of a gym at my work. I’ve taught 5 or 6 coworkers to use the free weights, but the gym is not crowded. About 6 months ago I was joined by a short but muscular fellow from our Georgia plant and he began to instruct a few coworkers too. We give each other space and respect.