A Career In Law

Are there any lawyers on the forum? The reason I am asking is because I am interested in becoming a lawyer and would like to ask the lawyers on this forum questions regarding a career in law.

I’m in my last year of a JD/MBA program. I have a job lined up for next year in the tax department of a large law firm here in the northeast. I’d be happy to answer any questions. LL

I got my JD in 1998, I don’t practice law but I can provide a few insights. Here are a couple of quick facts, I remember reading about a study that found two thirds of lawyers would choose a different career if they had the opportunity. Also, we had around 50% attrition in my law school class, very few were academic related, most just realized they didn’t want to practice law. I’m not trying to discourage you, a few of my friends enjoy practicing law the rest dislike it to varying degrees. Remember, most people don’t truly enjoy their job, I’m one of the lucky few. As a matter of fact, a lot of the people in my profession dislike their job but it pays well.
BTW, a JD/MBA is a great combination if you want to enter the business world and you won’t be restricted to just practicing law.

I post under a different name but I’ll use this one for this topic. I graduated from a top 10 law school in 1999 and went to work in the litigation department of a large East Coast law firm. I have a 6 figure salary, no life, and a serious case of work-related depression. The happiest day of my life was when i told the firm i was quitting. I’ll be leaving in a few months to work elsewhere. I’ll be staying in the legal field, but i would never again work for a big firm.

The problem with law school is its cost. By the time you graduate, you’ll have so much debt you’ll have to work for a big firm. Of the people I graduated with, probably 95% went to firms. Of those that I stay in contact with, only a handful actually like their jobs. The rest absolutely hate what they do.