T Nation

A Bit of Advice Please!!

Hello there, first a bit about me. I'm 6'2 220 pounds and I would say around 15-17% body fat.

I have been doing a full body routine 3 times a week for I would say 6 months now, lifts have gone right up (even with the attack of glandular fever in the middle of it!) and I have gone from 190 up to the 220 I'm currently at.

Diet is in check, getting around 300 grams of protein a day with 3,600-4,000 calories.

Anyway, enough of the waffling. As previously said I have been doing a full body routine for about 6 months now and it's worked very well for me, but things are starting to get a little stale now and I'm wondering in which direction I should go, be it a 4 day push/pull twice a week or a more conventional bodybuilding 4 day split.

Very tempted with an antagonist split, it was the way I used to work out a few years back and really enjoyed it.

Should add that my goal is to build more mass

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Hi there mate!

I say, if you have past experience with the antagonist split and feel it worked well for you, go for it! This is all about experimenting to find what routines work well for you, and then milking them as much as possible.

And keep on reading articles in this website, including past ones etc for new ideas on what to try next.

It seems there's been alot of discussion on these forums about bodybuilding/powerlifting routines lately. Alternate between heavy compound lifts, and lighter/higher rep isolation movements. It should allow for strength and size gain.

Read into it

Either split should be fine. It sounds like you've squeezed out a bunch of progress from your current routine, so any change in training should spark progress.

Check this article for some general ideas:

Or look around the site for a more specific plan. There are a bunch, and they all work well.