T Nation

915 Program for Powerlifting Meet

Hello CT, I’m interested in doing the 915 program for a powerlifting meet I have coming up. However, I have a few questions about the program.

1. I’ve never done Power Cleans ever. I was self-taught in my Squat, Bench, Deadlift, OHP and Rows initially, then I learned my University has a powerlifting gym, so I trained there. The coach is also an olympic weightlifter as well, but I never got a chance to ask him to teach me the olympic movements. I’ve done Cleans and Pressed and Snatches with a Dumbbell, but that’s about it. What would I do in place of Power Cleans? My gym isn’t equipped to do olympic movements.

2. For the assistance exercise for Bench Press, one of the listed ones are dumbbell presses if you’re weak off the chest. Are you referring to Dumbbell Overhead Press or Dumbbell Bench? Sounds stupid I know, but people use both terms interchangeably all the time so I just wanted to make sure.

Thank you for your time.

There is no needs to do power cleans You can do lighter deadlifts focusing on speed and technique. Use the same loading scheme as for the explosive bench press

Dumbbell bench press making sure that you use full range (pull with your back in the bottom)

Understood, many thanks CT!

So I know that you only do assistance work for the big four lifts on the heavy days. With that being the case, I can train 4 days per week currently. Would it be fine if on the explosive deadlift day, I do some loaded carries, and ab work MAYBE Hill Sprints after (Big maybe). So it’d look like

Monday Bench heavy/assistance, then explosive squat
Tuesday Deadlift heavy/assistance
Thursday Squat heavy/assistance, then explosive bench
Saturday Explosive Deadlift, then loaded carries, abs possibly sprints.

loaded carries yes, prowler pushing yes, sprints no (well you can do submaximal sprints, but not all out sprints, but they wont help your lifting like the other ones)