6'3" 29 Y/O Male Seeking a Program for Size and Definition

Hey Guys,

I am a 6’3" (190cm) 29 y/o male weighing in around 185-190 lbs looking to gain size and definition. I have a job where I am fairly active and before the quarantine, I was playing hockey at least once a week.

While I am fairly new to weightlifting, I was was hitting the gym 5 times a week for 2-3 months on an intermediate split training program, legs only once a week during those 5 days. I was also taking a clean gainer whey protein to attempt to increase size as well as eating fairly clean.

Currently at home I have a bench w/ a high cable pulley, pull-up bar and dumbbells so I am able to do a full workout without many substitutions. For the last 3 weeks, I have been on the T-Nation [2-A-Day Training for Radical Gains] but have been seeing less improvement than when I was doing the split. I have also added an additional arm and chest day at the end of the week.

I was wondering if anyone had any advice or different training programs for my goals. I am looking for an increase in muscle size and definition as well as an increase in strength. The issue I can see with the 5/3/1 program is that I do not have a squat rack.

For a streamlined program to see the best results the fastest, do I need to know my max lift for several exercises?

Any advice, direction or programming would be greatly appreciated.

You, and almost everyone else on this site.

I recommend you pick one of these as your goal, and pursue it with singleness of purpose.

4 Likes

First, @eyedentist is correct - you’re chasing a bunch of different goals.

I think it’s also important to note that you took this:

AKA 2-a-days, 4x a week (which I personally think is silly and doesn’t have any of the benefits that the authors of the article claim), and your response to getting less results than when you were doing a regular split, was to add an ADDITIONAL arm and chest day to a program that has you doing 8 lifting sessions every 7 days.