6'2, 180's Powerlifter?

I’m fairly new to weightlifting. I’m comfortable at 6’2", 186# and about 8% body fat. But I want to be strong. If I stay around my current weight, or drop down to around 181#, can I lift the kind of weight to be a competitive powerlifter? Or does my height require me to gain more muscle mass to be competitive? In other words: How does muscular strength relate to height?

[quote]135steward wrote:
I’m fairly new to weightlifting. I’m comfortable at 6’2", 186# and about 8% body fat. But I want to be strong. If I stay around my current weight, or drop down to around 181#, can I lift the kind of weight to be a competitive powerlifter? Or does my height require me to gain more muscle mass to be competitive? In other words: How does muscular strength relate to height?[/quote]

You’re going to need to gain app. 60-100 pounds if you plan on being any good. If you want to powerlfit now, that’s fine, but you won’t be as successful.

[quote]tom63 wrote:
135steward wrote:
I’m fairly new to weightlifting. I’m comfortable at 6’2", 186# and about 8% body fat. But I want to be strong. If I stay around my current weight, or drop down to around 181#, can I lift the kind of weight to be a competitive powerlifter? Or does my height require me to gain more muscle mass to be competitive? In other words: How does muscular strength relate to height?

You’re going to need to gain app. 60-100 pounds if you plan on being any good. If you want to powerlfit now, that’s fine, but you won’t be as successful.

[/quote]

thats so false…there are plenty of people that are wirey but ridiculously strong…the bulgarian lifter chakarov comes to mind

Don’t they have weight classes?

I imagine 6’ 180 # would be at a disadvantage compared to 5’6" 180# for squats and bench but maybe not for deadlifts.

I’m in the same boat, I was competing at 165 at 6’ ish for a while but I decided I just didn’t have enough muscle mass even though I could comfortably maintain 165 forever.