60 Years Old - Started 5 Years Ago

I’m 60 yrs old and I started training 5 years ago. Heres a pic from last week, any advice??

First off welcome. 60 ?? DAMN!!!

Advise? Keep doing whatever it is you are doing. Post details. I’m only a bit more than six years away from sixty. I’d like to know what might work or not by then. If you get bored, try throwing heavy stuff around (Highland Games, or Track and Field shot, discus, hammer.)

Wow you definitely do not look 60, nice work.

My max bench with good form is 335…I’ve always used a bad back as an excuse not to squat and relied on leg press, hack squat, etc. But from what I hear to bring up my bench and overall strengh up I have to squat. Its gonna suck cause I’m not gonna squat shit but ya got to start somewhere. Is there any validity to this idea?? And thanks for the replies so far the encouragement really helps boost my overall attitude!!

Have you tried front squats or trap bar deadlifts? Those exercises offer the benefits of squats and deads with much less lower back stress. You by no means HAVE to squat or deadlift to gain overall strength but if at all possible it’s good to keep variations of them in your routine.

Welcome. what kind of routine do you follow? There is this guy lurking around these parts… I think he is referred to as a “Jehovah’s Wendler”… he will knock on your door persistently trying to sell you some 5/3/1 snake oil. It’s best just to give in to him now… lol!

Try standing farther back from the camera - you look way too intimidating to be 60 in that picture :wink:

Welcome.

[quote]davens wrote:
I’m 60 yrs old and I started training 5 years ago. Heres a pic from last week, any advice??[/quote]

Welcome davens!

Well, I’ve not made it to 60 yet, and I’m not good at ‘advice’, but I would just make these general statements:

• be conscious of form on your lifts
  • be religious about mobility and joint health
  • listen to your body