T Nation

6 Wks of No Lifting - Muscle Loss?

EDIT: One important thing I left out here.

~3 weeks weeks ago I took 2 weeks off after feeling like I pulled a rotator cuff muscle during fb db press (8 reps), nothing crazy. I was able to continue the workout but had some pain so intensity was less than it could've been, STILL A GOOD WORKOUT. I normally worked chest, shoulders and rotator cuffs in the same workout. I'm thinking I should have been more judicious in my rotator cuff exercises and that may led to my injury - too much weight used or something. THat night I had some pain in my shoulder, but nothing crazy. I spoke to a personal trainer yesterday who suggested I take (additional) 2 weeks off from upper body and use "band" training or bodyweight training. I have been working out for 10-1/2 years and can't remember missing time due to an injury.

Extra details to read if you want: Last Friday, I came back after 13 days of no weights. I was able to complete a full chest workout and shoulders and the next day didn't have any pain, just a bit of stiffness, alleviated w/some "warming up". I had a bit of trouble on back day in that I didn't feel confident trying pullups as I could feel some pressure when I hung from the bars. Instead, I chose to do pulldowns w/lighter weight and slower cadence. Arms was yesterday. I felt a bit tentative and doing do some lifts I'd ordinarily do, but got a decent workout nonetheless. I can feel that there is still something not quite healed w/my rotator cuff, but would like to continue working out as 2 weeks off was plenty for my taste. I don't don't want to turn weeks into months but I don't want to be too conservative either.

END OF EDIT

I have what appears to be a minor, albeit nagging, pulled rotator cuff. I can do all my lifts, I just tend to feel a bit of an ache around my shoulder that's more than normal.