T Nation

6 Months Training. Recommendations/Tips

Hi there guys:

So, I have been working out for nearly 6 months by now. My goals are completely athletic and also functional strength -I have a job with a high demand of physical strength, agility, speed and also aerobic resistance- so I can't quit on any of those ones. Physique is a plus, but it's not a priority.

I started this summer by loosing some weight -loosing 22 pounds- and also started with stronglifts 5x5 in a home gym. Once the home gym was out of the question due to lack of plates I switched to 5/3/1 with a template I did on my own. It has evolved over this last few months and now it looks like this.

Monday:

Squat 5/3/1

Bench Press 5x5 using 80% of TM.

Weighted -30 lbs- hypers. Four sets, I usually do 20 reps per set.

Close grip pull up. Four sets. Try to do at least 25 in the entire session. The pull ups are like this:

Leg raises. 4 sets. Usually 20 reps per set.

I have changed recently the dips so I super set them with the bench. Before that I did them after leg raises.

Wednesday:

Deadlift 5/3/1

OHP 5/3/1

Close grip pull up. Same as Monday.

Push ups. 4 sets, 30 per set

Pull ups. 4 sets, 30 per set

Friday:

Squat 5x5 using 80% of TM.

Bench 5/3/1

Regular pull ups. 4 sets. I usually do around 20 in the entire session.

Plank. 4 sets, 60 secs per set.

Again, dips super set with bench.

My stimated 1TM -and the ones I use to calculate the TM of 5/3/1- are -perhaps they are a little conservative-:

Bench press: 130 lbs

Squat: 200 lbs

Deadlift: 200 lbs -I have a lower back injury and I want to take it easy on the DL-

OHP: 110 lbs

When I'm not working I run three times a week, everything done in the park or in the field -no treadmill-. When I'm working I usually do long runs -5 milers- 5 or 4 days a week.