6 Months of Lifting, New PRs & Goals

^^^ Me, mid-June ^^^

I started lifting in mid-June with the StrongLifts beginners program, and am now on my second cycle of the Advanced program.

When I started, I’d never lifted weights before, or participated in group sports of any kind as an adult. The last time I was in any kind of shape was 20 years ago, when I was in the Army.

I turn 40 in April.

In that time, I’ve gone from 215 to 230 lbs, while maintaining a BF% of 17-18%. I know it’s high, but I’ve been fighting with getting my diet nailed down in terms of caloric intake. I’m eating clean (nothing processed or packaged; lots of cruciferous veggies and red meat, along with chicken, eggs, bacon, nuts (not peanuts), and so on). I think I’ve got the diet nailed now, and the fat’s just starting to come off, but it’ll be several months before it shows. I’m in this for the strength. The fat loss will come once I have the kitchen fully figured out.

Anyway, I’m a old fat guy. :slight_smile:

So, when I started in June, I’d struggle with the lifts with 40-50lbs on the bar. I really had no idea where I wanted to go with it, except that I wanted to increase my strength and look a bit better. Around August, I set the following goals for myself:

By the end of 2008, I want to:

• Squat 300 for reps
  • Deadlift 300 for reps
  • Bent-over Row 200 for reps
  • Bench 200 for reps
  • Overhead press 125 for reps
  • Dip 50 for reps
  • Manage a 5 sets of 5 unweighted pullups (couldn’t do a single pullup when I started, and could barely manage 1 in August)

Today (Dec 31, 2008), I deadlifted 300 lbs for 3 reps, a new PR. I also did 3 reps at 120 for the overhead press (PR), and 3 pullups with 15 lbs of weight on the dip belt (PR). Monday, I did a set of 3 dips with 50 lbs on the dip belt (PR), and benched 185 for 3 reps (PR). I also managed a set of 3 Rows at 200.