T Nation

6 Months In

Hi all, came across this forum while looking some info on knee health/stretches.

I'm very new to weight Training, started 6months ago as a bag of bones
with standard weight set/bench. previous this I hadn't every lifted barbel
then invested in an Olympic set and built a squat rack.

age 28
height 5;8
current body weight 78kg (172 lbs)
starting weight 66.2 kg (146 lbs)

I started with & I am currently doing Strong Lifts 5x5.
I train 3 - 4 times a week, but I can do more
also recently have trouble with my right knee when squatting, currently squatting 110kg,
the issue started when I got to about a 80kg squat.

I'm about to take vacation and when I come back I plan to plan to work towards gaining another 20 lbs, and cut some fat.

I am very interested in reading about other programs, and welcome all advise!

Firstly, congrats on the progress, keep it up.

Here's a starter (principles), just need to read 1st page or 2:

And if you're feeling lazy lol, here's a few routines that are all nicely set out:

Good luck and stay focussed

If you are having knee issues squatting I would highly recommend learning the proper technique.

thanks for the links guys,

the squat video is really helpful.

I'm sort of one stage ahead of you as far as weight goes (started at 155, now 195) and after spending a couple months doing what was basically my own 5x5 routine, I'm now doing BBB and happy with the results thus far. Sort of an unconventional program, but it works for me. There are 6 and 4 day variants.

Another much more popular program is 5/3/1. It's 4 days/week ideally, but there is a 3 day version. I've never done it myself.

Great progress. If you are going for aesthetics, now would be a good time to start doing direct work for your arms, calves, rear delts, etc. You don't want to get everything else too far ahead and then realize you have to play catch-up with the parts that don't get enough work from Stronglifts.

Look into 5/3/1.