T Nation

6 Day Workout Program

Little bit of background:
Im an EMT at a hospital, work night shifts. Have been working out, lifting off and on for about 15years. I use gym time as a way to relieve a lot of stress so I like to be there 6days a week. I go in the afternoon before work and still go in afternoon on off days.
I like making up my own workout schedules by getting information from all opinions.

Question:
Does anyone have opinions on a workout schedule that would build strength, still keep lean and still allow me to hit the gym 6days a week for at least an hour and a half per day.
Thanks.

Look up the kingbeef thread, -generally intended as 4 days/week but should be fine doing something like 3 on one off. 4 days weights and 2 days hard conditioning another good option

My opinion is that if such a program works for you, do it.

It is also my opinion that with your job such a program is unlikely to let you recover properly.

I work shifts too (not as intense as an EMT, but still 12 hours long). What has worked really well for me is to train ONLY on my days off - but the sessions are two to three hours long, and I have a set rotation of two on/two off/three on/two off/two on/three off which works out nicely. I actually train six days a fortnight in blocks of two.

I would suggest that you schedule all your main work to be done on your days off: those will be longer, more intense sessions. On some of the days you work, go for much shorter sessions and just hit some assistance/accessory/conditioning work that doesn’t need as much mental focus.

I find it weird that working more would be considered an advantage in a program. I feel finding other ways to destress might be beneficial.

Anyway, if you insist on lifting 6 days a week, a push/pull/legs split would work fine.

This was my split when I was natural and chasing numbers. 3 plate bench, 4 plate squat, 5 plate deadlift in less than 2 years @80kg.

Day 1: Chest, Shoulders(Raises, Facepulls)
Day 2: Deadlifts