T Nation

5x5??

just wondering what you thought of the stronglifts work out??

Workout A
Press ups 3 sets x reps to failure
Squats 5x5
Bench press 5x5
Bent over row 5x5
Biceps curl 3x21 (killer 21s google it!)

Workout B

Pull up/chin up 3x failure
Squats 5x5
Overhead press 5x5
Deadlift 1x5
Triceps extensions 5x5

Week 1

Day one: Workout A

Day two: Workout B

Day three: Workout A

Week 2

Day one: Workout B

Day two: Workout A

Day three: workout B…

only 1x5 on deadlifts… WTF? bump that up to 5x5 or do something mad like 8 triples.

it all depends on your goals, current stats etc…post them!

i beleive stronglifts is a beginner orientated programme.

Yeah I’m quite new to weight lifting but my one rep maxs are;

squat 100kg
deadlift 110kg
bench 70kg
bent over row 70kg
overhead press 45kg

"(killer 21s google it!) "

Are you kidding? Why would you dick around with 21 semi-half-assed reps? Why not be consistent and knock out 5x5 on bicep curls with a heavy enough weight to stimulate it? Or 5xfail is also a good choice. Maybe I am just a moron, but I found 21’s to be as useless as a football bat.

NO KEEP DEADLIFTS AT 1X5. Squatting 3 times a week is enough for the posterior chain.

Also get rid of triceps extensions. Just do the program. I am doing it now, and my squat has gone up 15 lbs in 4 workouts.

IMO, a better idea would be:

Workout A
Squats 5x5
Bench press 5x5
Bent over row 5x5

Workout B
Chin-ups 5x5
Deadlifts 5x5
Overhead press 5x5

Plus some assistance exercises - flyes, calf raises, etc. I don’t see why you would go to failure on a programme where you’re working most muscle groups 3 times a week, period.

[quote]G87 wrote:

Workout A
Squats 5x5
Bench press 5x5
Bent over row 5x5

Workout B
Chin-ups 5x5
Deadlifts 5x5
Overhead press 5x5

Plus some assistance exercises - flyes, calf raises, etc. I don’t see why you would go to failure on a programme where you’re working most muscle groups 3 times a week, period. [/quote]

x2

[quote]thosebananas wrote: