T Nation

5x5 training advice

Hey. A huge thanks to all who helped advise me as to what program I should start on, now that I’ve finished 2 months of EDT. Your feedback was great. Consensus is that I should give 5x5 a try for about a month, then follow up with a hypertrophy program. (i.e. Renegade)
I have a couple of questions re: 5x5 - hope y’all can help out.
Firstly, I checked out the 5x5 program, and the advice given was that it should only be done for guys with a body fat of 12% or less. Had a body comp done about 10 days ago, and I’m at 14%. Would this make a difference for me? Should I consider another training program?
If I do start the 5x5, I would appreciate if someone could explain a some of the exercises. As a relative newbie, I still don’t have a grasp on all the movement. Thanks…

On day ONE, the following are called for:
1)CAMBERED BAR - incline press. What is a CAMBERED BAR?
2)seated HALF PRESS in the POWER RACK. What is a HALF PRESS? (is that the same as military press?) Is a POWER RACK, the rack where you do squats?

On DAY TWO, the following are called for…

1. BACK SQUATS…these are just regular squats, correc?
  2. SUMO DEADLIFTS…what’s the difference between these and the “regular” deadlifts that I’m familiar with (or is this just another name?) Does scapular adduction refer to trying to pinch the shoulder blades together?
  3. DUMBELL CLEAN AND PRESS… not familiar with this movement.

I know I asked a LOT of questions. I hope someone won’t mind taking the time to help me out here. To anyone who does, thank you VERY much. Your time and interest are REALLY appreciated.

Link to this for me?

Hi Lorne: (note: I’ve been “conversing” with Lorne via email…so I have a extra advantage of knowing his training background…)