I am about to start Bill Starr’s 5x5, but here are my stats:

6 ft, 175 pounds

5-rep max
ATG squat: 150
Deadlift: 190
Power Clean: 115
Bench: 115
Incline Bench: 105

For every lift, it is impossible for me to go up 2.5% a week. I can only go up 5 pounds mininum because thats the smallest weights I have (2.5 pound weights). Is this going to be a major problem? I have been lifting for almost 2 years, so im not really a beginner, though I am a beginner to weekly lower reps/higher set programs.

(What my school does is go 3x10 for 3 weeks, then 3x8 for 3 weeks, 3x6, then reset) Should I get Starting Strength instead? Would a normal bookstore have Starting Strength?

Chains, caribeaners, whatever. Weigh them, link them and then wrap/hook them to the barbell. I suggest you label them so you remember the weights.

If you’ve been lifting for 2 years and you still have numbers like those I think that you’re making mistake somewhere, probably diet.

Correct me if I’m wrong.

Don’t quibble over the percentages too much. Just add weight when you can.

[quote]LiftSmart wrote:
If you’ve been lifting for 2 years and you still have numbers like those I think that you’re making mistake somewhere, probably diet.

Correct me if I’m wrong.[/quote]

My starting numbers (started when I just turned 14, just about to turn 16 now)

1-rep max
Bench: 50
Squat: 70
Clean: 55

But yeah, my diet did suck up until 2 weeks ago. I changed it around. It’s not perfect, it’s probably not even great, but I am eating 5 meals a day now with a lot more protein and very little unhealty snacks.

ya dont worry about the 2.5% thing (have no idea where you seen that personaly)
what I do is Iadd 10 pounds every other workout untill i can no longer add 10 pounds then I add 5 pounds

when i cant add anymore weight I try adding 1 more rep
when i get to 5 more reps I then add 5 pounds for the 5x5 again