SBWC Fall Classic Training Log

Hello! I have been lifting semi-consistently for a solid 11 months now. I am a 24 y/o student pursuing a master’s degree at the moment so studies tend to get in the way of recovery and nutrition. The new goal is to hit a 550 conventional deadlift by August 1, 2018.

A summary of my deadlift progression so far:
295x3 May 2017
405x1 September 2017
425x1 January 2018
465x1 March 2018
500x1 April 14, 2018

Vid of 465 sumo from when I first started this thread in november 2017

3 Likes

Nice deadlift. You’re around about as strong as me (maybe stronger but I won’t admit that).

I find mixed awkward with sumo too so I switched to hook grip and it feels much better. Hook also feels a lot of like straps. Give it a go if you want

1 Like

In to see a 500 pound pull.

1 Like

Thanks for chiming in! I definitely will need to switch to hook grip sometime in the future if I ever plan on competing. At the moment, I don’t see myself competing in the near future, but its something to think about.

Awesome! Glad to have you here :). If I can pull it by the end of January that would be a 500lb sumo deadlift in about 6 months of training. Not the worst performance but hopefully I don’t snap myself along the way (knocks on wood).

I got good news! I PR’d again at 470. I only took 4 days off since my previous PR at 465, and I could tell my CNS was still fatigued. I was quite sore as well. I also missed a 395 double overhand so that was another clear sign that I was quite recovered yet. Nevertheless, my workout was as followed:

Sets/Reps
5x135 Double overhand (DO) sumo
5x135 DO
5x185 DO
3x225 DO
3x275 DO
3x315 DO
1x345 DO
1x395 DO (missed)
1x405 Straps
1x470 Straps (New PR!) - Felt fairly similar to 465
5x345 Conventional (straps) - Havent pulled conventional in awhile but it felt very easy, couldve gotten 10

Pullups 4x7
Farmer Walks -80lb dumbells 30seconds x4 (absolutely destroyed my grip)
Good mornings 4x5 (135,185,185,135)