531 with Type 1 Diabetes

I’m sure most people here are not doctors but I was just curious if anyone here has done 531 while being a diabetic. I’ve been doing the program for a few months now but I’m just not sure what kind of foods I should be eating since I have to watch my carb intake.

Not a doctor obviously, but you could just go keto; not ideal, but not unheard of; just up your fats and protein and eat vegetables high in fiber as your carb source (cruciferous). Talk to your doctor about what’s right for you and your goals and what’s acceptable.

Just received an testimonial about someone who had diabetes as well as a long-time alcoholic. Got sober, and began training with 5/3/1 (just the basic program). Cleaned up his diet and after losing weight and no experience in training in 6 months squatted 300, deadlifted 405 and pressed 170; all at a body weight at 170lbs. He also went from doing no chin-ups to 10.

His is a major reconstruction and I don’t expect everyone to make these kinds of gains. HOWEVER, much can be done with a quality strength program, common sense diet and daily walking.

You’re diabetic so you already know what to eat. Up your caloric intake with foods you are allowed to eat, and as with any change in behavior you need to watch the markers that you’ve already learned to watch. My guess is you’re going to up protein and fat intake and keep your carbs and sugars where they need to be.

1 Like

Hi tomh182,