531 for Hardgainers Rep Scheme

Hi Jim or anybody that can answer, the 531 for Hardgainers states that each lift has a different rep scheme. The squat has a widowmaker, press has 5x5 at 90% (I love that), some have PR + sets others don’t. If this has been answered already please point me to it, gracias.

Having done 5-3-1 in the past with great results I decided to try Hardgainer this time and I really like it. I’m just curious by nature and each time I’m doing widowmaker for squats but not for deads it always makes me wonder why it suits one but not the other. I’m sure there is a good reason, and yes Im a noob lol. Thanks for a great program.

For me, the eccentric portion of the Squat makes for a great mass builder and that’s the idea there. High rep squatting has been detailed by many coaches before. A heavy deadlift is very taxing mentally and is the truest form of strength, 20 reps of a heavy deadlift would be a very tough recovery.

Good point, especially on the DL. When i’ve gone hard in the past on DLs I feel like I’ve been a car wreck for the next two days, my CNS is jacked, I can’t think straight. Im too old for that now.

Don’t quote me on this but I’m pretty sure in a recent forum Wendler himself recommended 5’s PRO with 3-5x5 FSL is the best way to go about deadlifts. That volume and intensity is found in about every program you’ll find.

Please read the program - I believe you are misinterpreting much of the program.

Thanks Jim. The volume in this program is perfect, its great which is what has me interested in digging deeper. The high volume DLs was mostly from my crossfit days not 531.

Squats 5+ and 20 rep widow maker
Bench 5x5
DL 5+ and 5x5
Press 5 straight and 10x5