500lb Deadlift @ 198lbs (Horrible Technique...Help!)

Watch me attempt a 500lb

Actually I’m not a beast in the least bit. Guys I need your help. As you can see, my deadlifting technique is horrible – I don’t do them often.

You’re probably thinking, “If your form is so bad, when even attempt this amount of weight?” The answer is, this is my first time seeing my deadlift on camera and I never knew my form was this bad.

This movement has always been difficult for me to learn. So if you have any tips, comments or advice they will be greatly appreciated.

(P.S I’m 5’11 and I have a 78" wingspan if that means anything)

Strong deadlift. Your form was not that bad. Your pull almost passes for a good stiff-legged deadlift. It did not look too hard for you either, I bet you can pull more. I like how you said the hell with the straps.

Your back was straight like its supposed to be, you just locked out your knees before your hips. Try focusing on keeping your chest up maybe? weight in the heels and bar rubbing the shins. I mean its a 500lb single which is impressive even with bad form.

Your form wasn’t bad at all.

:confused:

wish I could deadlift that

I agree seemed like a deadlift/stiffleg

good lift
you make it look easy

Only prob I could see was that your ass went up too soon. Do a search on DL form articles, I think Cresey did a recent really good one.

See if you can find a powerlifting club and train with them for a few weeks to get live coaching.
BTW you have a great potential with those looong arms!

A couple smaller points to consider;

1. Make sure your arms are straight prior to the initial pull, a bent arm increases the risk of tearing your bicep.

2. Don’t look sideways. Keeping your head straight will minimize the chance of hurting your neck.

Aside from your hips coming up early, as others have mentioned, WOW! that looked easy. Great job.