T Nation

50+ and Increasing Muscle

I do find the posts here interesting and insightful. However, being 51 I’m real curious about the real ability to gain muscle mass at this age. I’ve been working out with weights for about 6 years regularly and with a trainer and am in pretty good shape but would love to add a little mass to my frame. Not looking to be Mr America but…

I only wish I was aware of this bodybuidling craze when I was in my 20’s!! Anyway, Am looking for any suggestions, including supplements, and please if you feel it’s not possibe, tell me. I will then continue what I’m doing as I am in better shape than I was in my 20’s
dbushn2

Funny timimg. I just (re)read Paul Kelso’s book “Powerlifting Basics, Texas-style The Adventures of Lope Delk”. Here’s a quote (kinda)…

“I’m gaining muscular bodyweight at an age when most men are looking for a place to take a nap!”

He talks about training since the 50’s so I’d say he’s got a few years on you.

You may want to check out that book (google search) and see if you’d like to get into powerlifting. You don’t need to compete to powerlift and it’d be a great challenge for you. See if your trainer is up to the task. And if you followed some of the routines in the book, you’d be sure to get bigger and stronger.

Good luck.

Being 5 ysr older than you I can say yes you can increase muscle. Ya gotta do it right and be willing to walk funny now and then.

I powerlift, and love it. Hey I injured my shoulder 3 weeks before national masters. Let it rest developed my own rehab, and tonight just 6 weeks after injuring it, I benched first time since. Did 10 reps with 200 lbs.

Just get off your butt and train, eat, and get some rest.

Growing old is not for sissies.

Another over-50 here. Yes you can put on muscle. You have to pace your eating so it does not outrun your muscle building, however. Losing fat is not as easy as it was when we were 17.:0)