5 Year Break... Starting Over!

Greetings,

I just started weightlifting again after taking 5 years off! I feel like a beginner again…but since I am older, my goals have changed. I am focusing on lifting for overall health.

Background information…

I started weight training in high school after experiencing being the victim of bullying…cliche right? Anyways, I was very skinny, with average genetics, but decent motivation. Little did I know, that I would eventually blow up, in which this hobby became an unhealthy addiction. I went on to college and competed in athletics, but continued to develop body image issues and mental health issues. As I was ending my college athletic career, I was diagnosed with chronic mono that never seemed to go away! After blood tests, I was deficient in almost all areas, which played a greater impact on me mentally than physically. I graduated, quit working out, and settled for a sub par job. I fell into the daily grind of work and the wrong kind of bar.

As a natural lifter, battling SSRI side effects and having a body very sensitive to supplements, I felt I needed supplements to workout…which lead to feeling defeated and quitting! I did turn heads in my town…with decent lifts including the raw 4/5/6, bench/squat/dead at 200 pounds body weight.Where I struggled most and fell was my issue of comparing myself to others. Also, the majority of the lifters I knew, started taking gear and competing.

Fast forward to today…